Ministerial Mandate Letters Released - Dec 13

This morning, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau released the mandate letters for his new Cabinet. These mandate letters will act as a guide for his Ministers to deliver on the promises made during the 2019 federal election. Mandate letters outline the policy objectives that each minister will work to accomplish, as well as the pressing challenges they will address in their role. It should be noted that the mandate letters are not an exhaustive list of all files a minister will work on.

As the mandate letters were made public by Trudeau in 2015, public expectation and scrutiny placed additional onus on the ministers to fulfill the instructions received by the Prime Minister. Each Minister was graded and promoted or demoted based on their ability to meet the demands set out by the Prime Minister. With the changed dynamics of a minority Parliament, it will be interesting to see how rigidly the instructions given to each minister today will be met and how much leeway will be given to ministers in their negotiations with opposition parties.

Chrystia FreelandDeputy Prime Minister & Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs

Anita AnandMinister of Public Services & Procurement

Navdeep BainsMinister of Innovation, Science and Industry

Carolyn BennettMinister of Crown-Indigenous Relations

Marie-Claude BibeauMinister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Bill BlairMinister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Bardish ChaggerMinister of Diversity and Inclusion and Youth

François-Philippe ChampagneMinister of Foreign Affairs

Jean-Yves DuclosPresident of Treasury Board

Mona FortierMinister of Middle Class Prosperity and Associate Minister of Finance

Marc GarneauMinister of Transport

Karina GouldMinister of International Development

Steven GuilbeaultMinister of Canadian Heritage

Patty HajduMinister of Health

Ahmed HussenMinister of Families, Children and Social Development

Mélanie JolyMinister of Economic Development and Official Languages

Bernadette JordanMinister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard

David LamettiMinister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Dominic LeBlancPresident of the Queen’s Privy Council for Canada

Diane LebouthillierMinister of National Revenue

Lawrence MacAulayMinister of Veterans Affairs, Associate Minister of National Defence

Catherine McKennaMinister of Infrastructure and Communities

Marco MendicinoMinister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship

Marc MillerMinister of Indigenous Services

Maryam MonsefMinister for Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development

Bill MorneauMinister of Finance

Joyce MurrayMinister of Digital Government

Mary NgMinister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade

Seamus O’ReganMinister of Natural Resources

Carla QualtroughMinister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion

Pablo RodriguezLeader of the Government in the House of Commons

Harjit SajjanMinister of National Defence

Deb SchulteMinister of Seniors

Filomena TassiMinister of Labour

Dan VandalMinister of Northern Affairs

Jonathan WilkinsonMinister of Environment and Climate Change

267 views0 comments